Sougwen Chung

New York, New York, United States

Mimicry (Mytheme, Étude Op. 4, No. 3)

Sougwen Chung's artwork Mimicry is part of her series Mytheme (Étude Op. 4) and one of four works. The series explores the expressiveness of the abstract form by transcribing the concept of mytheme - the constant unchanging element forming a mythical narrative’s kernel - into a visual exploration. In order to do so, Chung records gestures with paint which she then manipulates digitally, achieving a sense of transformation and dimensionality; without, however, altering the core forms or colours dictating the abstract composition.

Chung expands her interpretation of mytheme in Mimicry by referencing the ancient Greek term mimesis - to imitate - in the work’s title. Mimesis is a critical and philosophical term that carries a wide range of meanings including imitation, representation, the act of resembling, the presentation of self and mimicry. The latter is commonly used in evolutionary biology and refers to the similarity of one species to another in appearance, behaviour, sound, scent or location: one group of organisms evolve to share perceived characteristics with another group (the eyes on a butterfly’s wings compared to predator’s eyes). In ancient Greece, mimesis (mimicry) governed the creation of artworks with correspondence to the physical world understood as a model for beauty, truth and good.

A score composed of textural soundscapes of improvisational violin and granular synthesis methods accompanies the works in this collection. Violin compositions were performed by Chung in collaboration with musician Praveen Sharma.

Sougwen Chung lives and works in New York.
Digital Edition of 200

This artwork is available as a Gift Card. Beautifully packaged and delivered with your personal message to an address of your choice. Learn more

Buy Gift Card

Your purchase includes

  • HD video [00:48] in your Vault
  • Your edition number
  • Your certificate of authenticity
  • Right to resell on Trade
Mimicry (Mytheme, Étude Op. 4, No. 3)by Sougwen Chung

Digital Edition tailor-made for screens and optimized for streaming online or within Sedition apps

Sample Certificate

Every edition is personalised, signed and numbered with a Certificate of Authenticity