Shift Symm.three

The Shift Symm collection is a series of brutal, abstract audiovisual construction from Dutch-born, Copenhagen-based composer Zeno van den Broek. Raw, exposed electronic textures collide in oscillating patterns of drift. Van den Broek's sculptural sonic architecture plays on rigorous shifts of compositional symmetry - with results that are both hypnotic and evocative.

Shifting is a key principle in the three works. Visual and sonic elements - beats, lines and blocks - perpetually breach the symmetry of their arrangements, switch to new paths and start new trajectories. In chains of transformations, order gives way to controlled entropy.

The third work in the series, Shift Symm.three, sees stark lines contrast with circular forms, a simultaneous counterpoint of both visuals and sound. The contact of elliptical and linear echoes the relationship between discrete digital and continuous analogue representation.

$22 Digital Edition of 100

Rent this artwork

Subscribe to Art Stream Choice and rent up to 12 artworks of your choice per week. Learn More ›

Your purchase includes:

  • HD video in your Vault 05:16
  • Your edition number
  • Your certificate of authenticity
  • Right to resell on Trade
Shift Symm.threeby Zeno van den Broek
X of 100
Shift Symm.three
Zeno van den Broek
Your Name Here
February 18, 2018
Blured signature