We’re excited to share an opportunity for international media artists of Asian descent. The 4th VH Award is open until 19 March to artists making audiovisual screen based work which explores “the context of Asia and its futures” (full details on selection criteria, formats and how to apply here). Selected artists will receive prize money and an invitation to take part in an online residency with Eyebeam, with one Grand Prix winner receiving further prizes. The residency is organised by the Hyundai Motor Group led by Artistic Director, DooEun Choi.

The artwork submissions will be judged by a jury of prominent curators and directors, including: Sook-Kyung Lee (Senior Curator, International Art: Transnational (Hyundai Tate Research Centre), Tate Modern; Christopher Philips (independent Curator and Critic); Roderick Shrock (Curator and Executive Director of Eyebeam); Aaron Seeto (Director at Museum MACAN) and June Yap (Director of Curatorial, Collections and Programmes at Singapore Art Museum).

Five artists will be selected; the shortlisted artists will be invited to take part in Eyebeam’s online residency, which will take place from 1 May to 31 July. During the residency the finalists will be guided by six leaders and mentors: Karen Archey, American Artist, Ute Meta Bauer, Zach Lieberman, Barbara London and Kamau Patton; the programme includes mentorship sessions, professional development opportunities and an online screening. 

As well as the Eyebeam residency, finalists will receive $25,000 USD to make their proposed artwork and will be invited to show their work in a number of international exhibitions. In October 2021, the award-winning artist will be selected at the Grand Prix ceremony and will receive an additional $25,000 USD and a digital award certificate. 

Artists are invited to share their portfolio or links to their work to this link before 19 March 2021.

Top Image: Highway like a Shooting Star by previous VH Award finalist Youngkak Cho, as shown at Ars Electronica 2019.

24h Private View Is Live

New collection The Prevailing Wisdom by John Sanborn is available.

Time Remaining