Sougwen Chung

New York, New York, United States

Ilinx (Mytheme, Étude Op. 4, No. 4)

Sougwen Chung's artwork Ilinx is part of her series Mytheme (Étude Op. 4) and one of four works. The series explores the expressiveness of the abstract form by transcribing the concept of mytheme - the constant unchanging element forming a mythical narrative’s kernel - into a visual exploration. In order to do so, Chung records gestures with paint which she then manipulates digitally, achieving a sense of transformation and dimensionality; without, however, altering the core forms or colours dictating the abstract composition.

Ilinx mimics the concept of mytheme by letting its title speak for itself: “Ilinx is a kind of play described by the sociologist Roger Caillois as a major figure in game studies. Ilinx creates a temporary disruption of perception, as with vertigo, dizziness, or disorientation in direction of movement.” Caillois links ilinx to other ancient Greek categories dictating play-writing like agon, alea and mimesis (or mimicry). Hence, Chung closes the thematic circle that makes up her series Mytheme (Étude Op. 4).

A score composed of textural soundscapes of improvisational violin and granular synthesis methods accompanies the works in this collection. Violin compositions were performed by Chung in collaboration with musician Praveen Sharma.

Sougwen Chung lives and works in New York.
Digital Edition of 200

This artwork is available as a Gift Card. Beautifully packaged and delivered with your personal message to an address of your choice. Learn more

Buy Gift Card

Your purchase includes

  • HD video [00:38] in your Vault
  • Your edition number
  • Your certificate of authenticity
  • Right to resell on Trade
Ilinx (Mytheme, Étude Op. 4, No. 4)by Sougwen Chung

Digital Edition tailor-made for screens and optimized for streaming online or within Sedition apps

Sample Certificate

Every edition is personalised, signed and numbered with a Certificate of Authenticity

24h Private View Is Live

New artwork Sanctus by Terry Flaxton is available.

Time Remaining