Announcement: FutureFest Art Prize Shortlist

Announcement: FutureFest Art Prize Shortlist

Bioplastic Fantastic by Johanna Schmeer

Sedition and Nesta are delighted to announce the shortlist of artworks selected for the inaugural FutureFest Art Prize. Twelve works have been selected from over 270 submissions from around the world in response to the themes Future Work, Future Thrive, Future Love and Future Play; the shortlisted twelve will be showcased at FutureFest 2016.

Taking place at London’s Tobacco Dock, 17-18 September, the weekend festival brings to life the groundbreaking trends and technology which will shape our world 30 years from now. The final four winners of the Art Prize will be decided by a live audience vote during the festival, with one winner selected from each theme. Each winner will be awarded a £500 cash prize and will have their work launched on Sedition and promoted to an international audience of art and digital enthusiasts and collectors. The shortlisted artworks are:

Future Love
  • The Kiss by APOTROPIA
  • Kiss From The Soul by Jeremy McKeehen
  • Our Profiles Kiss by Karoline Georges
  • Future Work
  • Device for Excavations 2 (from Lighting Tools Project) by Ivaylo Hristov
  • Mutasphere 00 by DoPe
  • by Oihane Iragüen
  • Future Play
  • Audio Ballerina Solo by Benoit Maubrey
  • Pure Movement 3, Environment 1.2 by Ulla Nolden
  • Inferno by Louis-Phillippe Demers and Bill Vorn
  • Future Thrive
  • Bioplastic Fantastic by Johanna Schmeer
  • Living and Lifeless by Kollinger Szabolcs
  • Surrogate Mechanica by Keith Kamholz
  • Submissions were reviewed by a panel of esteemed, high-profile, and influential judges - including Claudia Hart, artist, curator and Associate Professor at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Tom Berman, artist and engineer, DJ Spooky, experimental musician and author, and FIELD, a creative studio combining art and technology. The four FutureFest 2016 curators – Ghislaine Boddington, Co-founder and Creative Director of body>data>space, Ruth Amos, Managing Director of StairSteady Ltd, Pat Kane, writer, musician and consultant and Dr Morgaine Gaye, Director of Bellwether: Food Trends – also judged the entries.

    Geoff Mulgan, CEO Nesta, Josh McNorton, Festival Manager of FutureFest and Rory Blain, Director of Sedition, and Ashley Wong, Head of Programmes and Operations at Sedition, also contributed to the judging process.


    FutureFest takes place on 17 and 18 September 2016 at Tobacco Dock, Tobacco Quay, Wapping Ln, London E1W 2SF. For tickets to FutureFest 2016 and additional information, visit:

    Mentioned artists
    Ivaylo Hristov
    Ivaylo Hristov
    Followers 12
    Artworks 1